Search: Keyword:


Oneida Band  

Welcoming Message

            The Oneida Band welcomes you to an exciting 2014-215 school year. We hope that you have had a relaxing and restful summer. This website details all activities associated with the band program for the upcoming academic year. A great deal of information is included with the happenings of the band and grading guidelines. Please stay informed with the events of our program. Further information can be found on our email list, band Facebook page and the school website which is where you are now.

Band Program and History

            Now in its 77th year, Oneida has enjoyed a rich local, regional and state wide reputation as having one of the top bands. The band has performed at two Governors’ Inauguration Parades (most recently 2011) and has scored several superior ratings at regional marching competitions and spring concert festivals with TSSBDA and ETSBOA. The 2013 Oneida Marching Band took 1st place at the Alcoa competition and the 2014 OHS Concert Band scored superior ratings at the TTSSBDA Spring Festival in April. The band routinely performs in the Oneida Christmas Parade and Allardt Pumpkin Festival Parade. Select band members get to perform in the ETSBOA Junior/Senior clinic, The Festival of Winds and Percussion at Tennessee Tech and the Carolina Band Festival at University of North Carolina at Greensboro. TMEA (All state band) has rotated from Nashville, Chattanooga and now for two years, in Memphis.     

            Several former Oneida band directors have gone on to have illustrious careers. Lanny Huddleston (1971-1976) is currently retired in Texas. Craig Valentine (1978-1981) is the band director at Horace Maynard MS and assistants the 80 member Union County HS Band. Lynn Hunt (1982-1985) is the band director at Deep Creek Middle School in Chesapeake Public Schools Virginia. Chris Satterfield (1994-1997) is the director of bands at Durant HS in Tampa, Florida. He spent 13 years at South Doyle HS. Jennifer Stewart (1997-1999, now Dr. Walters) is a Music Education professor at UNCG in Greensboro, North Carolina. Dr. B.J. Diden (1999-2001) is currently the Assistant Director of Bands at Georgia Tech University in Atlanta, Georgia. Dr. Travis Greene (2004-2007) just received his PHD at Indiana University and is now the director of bands at Maryville Jr. High School.

            Some very noteworthy band alumni continue to positively impact the band. They include, Cheryl Butler, Jason Claborn, Jamie Cotton, Lisa (Bishop) Cotton, Tallon Free, Glenda (Tibbals) Gray, Ryan Hoffman, Adam Huff, Denise May (Strunk), Joy Stone (Roy) Tim Smith, Mike Swain and Laurel (Clark) Ward. One former alumnus has had the greatest influence of all. Nancy Jane Blair’s recent unprecedented financial gift in 2011 allowed the band to purchase 25 new instruments from Lundsford’s Musical Instruments in Knoxville and 70 new marching band uniforms from Fruhauf. Nancy passed away in 2011.